Youtubing and the Entertainment Industry

Posted on October 19, 2011

0


Hello Blog,

So lately it has been a bit out of control because I’ve been constantly shooting for this new channel that I’m collaborating with my friend Scott Yoshimoto called The Dreamlapse Project. You can find our first video post here: The Dreamlapse Project. I haven’t had time to actually sit and reflect pensively. However, I want to share my thoughts on the realities of today’s media based on my current experiences. Although my perspective is obviously subjected to my personal experiences, I have encountered the limitations of opportunity and also the potentials of growth in this same industry. SO… that being said, here I go.

The truth is that the entertainment industry, as we all know, is made up of very specific cliques. However, within these cliques, there is a dispersion of employment opportunities based on specific categorized platforms. By that I mean, the groups are heavily ethnically bound, some being blessed with spoon feeding from their family. This has led to the limitation of opportunities for more ethnically diverse populations like Hispanics, Asians, Africans, etc. Based on discussion with a friend, the Hollywood scene is heavily controlled by Jewish families. Many cliques that arise within these groups are from family and friends who provide opportunities to one another rather than to the mass public–which makes perfect sense because I would entrust someone I knew more personally than a complete stranger. However, the world has evolved in the past generations to be more transnational, so you’d expect to see more Latinos or Asians on mainstream television… In a way, I guess its possible. BUT, this industry continues to stay confined within its shell, and outsiders must enter from the front door, working their way from the ground up.

While in college, I strived to become the next Spielberg, like every other prospective amateur director. I have placed myself in what I believed at the time would be, the golden opportunity. I was hired at a studio known as ROYCE Entertainment Group. While working at this office, I met many industry key players including Greg Elam and Ed Royce. From this, I learned that Greg entered the industry through strong family connections, while Ed entered through opportunities that he pushed for himself. Ed basically walked up to producers at the most established studios like Paramount, WB, Universal, etc. and talked them into giving him a position. Although it seems almost impossible to get by security without being questioned, he somehow pulled it off. Although staying at this studio was definitely possible, I decided to leave to enter the industry through a different path. I felt the need to openly create my own projects and control my own opportunities. Although I’m not established or known, I do know that you can use any online media platform to pioneer a path for yourself. Therefore, that is what I started doing.

I’ve been meeting different YouTubers lately, each having their own history of how they’ve reached their current status as being “Youtube famous.” However, getting famous through this platform has definitely provided opportunity in the mainstream for the few who have persisted. Those big time names like “Wong Fu Productions” or “Nigahiga” and “mysteryguitarman” have created their own fan-base which has helped back them when scouting larger scale opportunities. When meeting YouTubers, I asked myself… how long can they persist for a principal role opportunity or for a mainstream gig. Also, how long can they devote themselves to their channels full-time while funding their basic needs of eating and transportation. As for the asian population, I learned that many are dependent on their parents. Some Youtubers strive to pave their paths while working part-time. I know Scott shoots weddings and debuts, Cathy Nguyen works at the Boiling Crab restaurant, and I work part-time at a tutoring center. Nonetheless, those building on their social network through some online media platforms like Youtube or Vimeo can definitely build a “social resume” for future employers. This, I have learned, for the minority at least, is a very realistic path for those wanting to get their feet drenched with opportunity. Nonetheless, it is also a good opportunity for those who want the creativity and control for their own videos, and who aren’t so die-hard on trying to be the next Guy Ritchie or Spike Jonze but are just in it to have some fun and to reach an audience who appreciates their work. This is actually what attracted me to working with Scott, and therefore we created our channel. Who knows where this may go, but for now it’s at a good place.

With that, I end.

Peace Kent.

Posted in: Random Thinking